|
COLLEGE OF EDUCATION DATABASES
DATABASES BY COLLEGE
| Titles |
Description |
| Academic Search Complete |
Provides full text for nearly 3,180 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, compute sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. |
| America's Newspapers |
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. |
| ArticleFirst |
Index to over 9,277,000 articles from 12,000 sources on business, science, humanities, social science, medicine, technology, and popular culture. |
| Big Chalk: eLibrary |
Full-Text articles from newspapers, magazines, books, pictures, maps and TV/Radio transcripts. |
| Campus Research |
Provides an easy-to-use online source for news, law-related, and business information. |
| Choice |
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and ChoiceReviews.online for collection development and scholarly research. Choice reaches almost every undergraduate college and university library in the United States. |
| * Dissertation Abstracts |
in house use only- please call or talk to the Reference Staff |
| eLibrary - Curriculum |
Delivers one of the largest collections of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for K-12 schools and libraries. Students find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus thousands of pictures, maps, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, plus audio/video content. |
| Electronic Collections Online(A&I) |
Full-text articles and abstracts, including images, from journals in the following fields: agriculture, library science, anthropology, literature, business, medicine, economics, philosophy, education, political science, fine arts, psychology, geography, religion and religions, history, science, language, social sciences, law, and technology. |
| Encyclopedia Americana |
Full-Text and images on a wide range of topics |
| ERIC - Ebscohost |
Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. |
| ERIC - FirstSearch |
Contains annotated references to educational materials issued in the monthly Resources in Education (RIE) and to journal articles issued in the monthly Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) |
| ERIC - Dept. of Education |
The ERIC online system provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, are now available for free. |
| Family Studies Abstracts |
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records xcovering essential ares related to family studies, including mariage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline. |
| Funk and Wagnalis New World Encyclopedia |
Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually |
| GPO Monthly Catalog |
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. Includes a bibliographic citation in each record |
| Info Trac Custom Newspapers |
Full-Text newspaper articles from the Austin American Statesman, Dallas Morning, Financial Times, Houston Chronicle, Knight Ridder, N.Y. Times, The Times(London), & Washington Post. |
| Ingenta |
The world's largest website for the search and delivery of research articles, ingenta.com offers you access to article summaries from over 25,000 publications linked to the full text of over 5,200 titles. |
| Legal Collection |
Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 of the world’s best law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more |
| MasterFILE Premier |
Searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals over a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multicultural. Designed specifically for the public library |
| NetLibrary |
Large collection of ebooks that you can view or checkout online. Has older books that can be downloaded to your computer. |
| Newspaper Source |
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers |
| Opposing Viewpoints |
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together all the information that's needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more |
| Oxford Reference |
Indexed database contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. |
| Primary Search |
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children’s rooms, contains full text for nearly 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary. |
| Professional Development Collection |
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. |
| PsycInfo |
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. |
| SPORTDiscus |
SPORTDiscus is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 350 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus with full-text coverage dating back to 1985. |
| Texas Reference Collection |
Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans |
| Thomas |
This full text U.S. Congressional database is the primary site for Federal Legislative information. |
| TOPICsearch |
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 102,800 articles from 2,500 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s unparalleled periodicals collection, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information and EBSCO’s Current Issues database. |
| Vocational and Career Collection |
Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals |
| World Almanac |
A fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike which includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics. |
| World Cat |
Over 41,000,000 items including: books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings, magazines, videotapes. Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. |
| World History Collection |
Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964. These hand-selected information sources cover a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, and more. |
|