COLLEGE OF HEALTH& HUMAN SERVICES DATABASES

DATABASES BY COLLEGE


Titles Description
Academic Search Complete Provides full text for nearly 3,180 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, compute sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Alternative Health Watch Provides full text for articles from more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals, reports and proceedings, as well as association and consumer newsletters on complementary and alternative medicine. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
America's Newspapers

The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.

ArticleFirst Index to over 9,277,000 articles from 12,000 sources on business, science, humanities, social science, medicine, technology, and popular culture.
Big Chalk: eLibrary Full-Text articles from newspapers, magazines, books, pictures, maps and TV/Radio transcripts.
Campus Research Provides an easy-to-use online source for news, law-related, and business information.
Choice Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and ChoiceReviews.online for collection development and scholarly research. Choice reaches almost every undergraduate college and university library in the United States.
CINAHL Full text English language journal literature for nursing and allied health disciplines
Consumer Health Complete Consumer Health Completeprovides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. You can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
* Dissertation Abstracts in house use only- please call or talk to the Reference Staff
Electronic Collections Online(A&I) Full-text articles and abstracts, including images, from journals in the following fields: agriculture, library science, anthropology, literature, business, medicine, economics, philosophy, education, political science, fine arts, psychology, geography, religion and religions, history, science, language, social sciences, law, and technology.
Encyclopedia Americana Full-Text and images on a wide range of topics
Family Studies Abstracts  Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records xcovering essential ares related to family studies, including mariage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline. 
Federal Register Online Official daily publication for Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents
GPO Monthly Catalog Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. Includes a bibliographic citation in each record
Health and Wellness Resource Center Topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Health Reference Center Academic One-stop, full service resource for health-related research. It provides an integrated collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Records are available in a combination of indexing, abstracts or full text formats. Designed for nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health researchers.
Health Source: Consumer Edition Offers authoritative information on health-related questions. The content of Health Source: Consumer Edition is also enhanced with several health books published by the People’s Medical Society. With this database you can search for information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Info Trac Custom Newspapers Full-Text newspaper articles from the Austin American Statesman, Dallas Morning, Financial Times, Houston Chronicle, Knight Ridder, N.Y. Times, The Times(London), & Washington Post.
Ingenta The world's largest website for the search and delivery of research articles, ingenta.com offers you access to article summaries from over 25,000 publications linked to the full text of over 5,200 titles.
Legal Collection Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 of the world’s best law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more
MasterFILE Premier Searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals over a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multicultural. Designed specifically for the public library
Medic Latina A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.
MEDLINE -Ebscohost Authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences, and much more with abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. Includes Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) index with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities
MEDLINE - FirstSearch Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts
Natural & Alternative Treatments Provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments - including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, palliative care, and more.
NetLibrary Large collection of ebooks that you can view or checkout online. Has older books that can be downloaded to your computer.
Newspaper Source Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers
Nursing Collection I & II Full text, full image articles from nursing journals.
Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together all the information that's needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more
Oxford Reference Indexed database contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
PapersFirst Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
ProceedingsFirst Index of worldwide conference proceedings
Proquest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. The database includes abstract and indexing for over 230 titles, with more than 75 available in full-text.
PsycInfo Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Public Administration Abstracts   Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administartion research, public administartion theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
PubMed Provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
SPORTDiscus SPORTDiscus is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 350 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus with full-text coverage dating back to 1985.
Stat!Ref Medical information database that searches from more than 35 medical texts including Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Mosby's Drug Consult®, and Griffith's 5 Minute Clinical Consult.
Thomas This full text U.S. Congressional database is the primary site for Federal Legislative information.
World Almanac A fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike which includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics.
World Cat Over 41,000,000 items including: books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings, magazines, videotapes. Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.

99.99.99