COLLEGE OF HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCE DATABASES
DATABASES BY COLLEGE
| Titles |
Description |
| Academic Search Complete |
Provides full text for nearly 3,180 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, compute sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. |
| America: History & Life |
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews and abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. In 2006, America: History and Life began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. |
| America's Newspapers |
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. |
| ArticleFirst |
Index to over 9,277,000 articles from 12,000 sources on business, science, humanities, social science, medicine, technology, and popular culture. |
| Bibliography of Native North Americans |
Abibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. |
| Big Chalk: eLibrary |
Full-Text articles from newspapers, magazines, books, pictures, maps and TV/Radio transcripts. |
| Campus Research |
Provides an easy-to-use online source of news, law-related, and business news. |
| Case Periodica |
Index of Latin Journals in the sciences and humanities. |
| Choice |
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and ChoiceReviews.online for collection development and scholarly research. Choice reaches almost every undergraduate college and university library in the United States. |
| Contemporary Authors |
In-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reaction to their works. |
| Contemporary Literary Criticism |
In-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reaction to their works. |
| Dictionary of Literary Biography |
In-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reaction to their works. |
| * Dissertation Abstracts |
in house use only- please call or talk to the Reference Staff |
| Electronic Collections Online(A&I) |
Full-text articles and abstracts, including images, from journals in the following fields: agriculture, library science, anthropology, literature, business, medicine, economics, philosophy, education, political science, fine arts, psychology, geography, religion and religions, history, science, language, social sciences, law, and technology. |
| Encyclopedia Americana |
Full-Text and images on a wide range of topics |
| Family Studies Abstracts |
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Family Studies, Journal of Marriage & Family, and Family Relations |
| Fuente Academia |
Aunique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database provides full text (including PDF) for 260 scholarly Spanish language journals. |
| GPO Monthly Catalog |
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. Includes a bibliographic citation in each record |
| Handbook of Texas |
A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. |
| HeritageQuest |
Database of peoples and places that includes family histories, genealogical serials, local histories, Census records from 1790 to 1930, and other primary sources in full image |
| Index to Texas Magazines and Documents |
Librarians on the Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria Library staff began the Index in 1986 to answer questions from students, the business community, and the general public about topics specific to Texas. Emphasis is on business, education, history, and government, with magazines of general interest also included. Over the years, magazines and documents have been added or removed from indexing as publication patterns changed. |
| Info Trac Custom Newspapers |
Full-Text newspaper articles from the Austin American Statesman, Dallas Morning, Financial Times, Houston Chronicle, Knight Ridder, N.Y. Times, The Times(London), & Washington Post. |
| Ingenta |
The world's largest website for the search and delivery of research articles, ingenta.com offers you access to article summaries from over 25,000 publications linked to the full text of over 5,200 titles. |
| Legal Collection |
Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 of the world’s best law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more |
| Literature Resource Center |
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. The Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. |
| Making of America |
Athematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints |
| MasterFILE Premier |
Searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals over a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multicultural. Designed specifically for the public library |
| Military & Government Collection |
Provides full text from over 320 military and general interest publications. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military. |
| MLA International Bibliography |
Provides over one million citations for items from the realms of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. |
| MLA Directory of Periodicals |
Ofers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, includeseditorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. |
| NetLibrary |
Large collection of ebooks that you can view or checkout online. Has older books that can be downloaded to your computer. |
| Newspaper Source |
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers |
| Opposing Viewpoints |
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together all the information that's needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more |
| Oxford Reference |
Indexed database contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. |
| * PAIS |
in house use only- please call or talk to the Reference Staff |
| Perseus |
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. As well ashistorical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War. |
| Project Muse |
Full text database of over 100 scholarly journals in the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences and Mathematics. |
| Proquest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index |
ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. The database includes abstract and indexing for over 230 titles, with more than 75 available in full-text. |
| Psychological & Behavioral Sciences Collection |
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. |
| PsycInfo |
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. |
| Public Administartion Abstracts |
Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration |
| Religion & Philosophy Collection |
Database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles |
| Scribner's Writers |
1,600 original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. |
| Serials Directory |
Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. It contains over 184,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; historical data for an additional 20,000 titles; data from nearly 83,500 publishers worldwide. |
| Texas Digital Sanborn Maps |
Digital Sanborn Maps for Texas cities only. |
| Thomas |
This full text U.S. Congressional database is the primary site for Federal Legislative information. |
| Twayne's Author Series |
Offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres.Twayne’s Author Seriesonline features the content of nearly 600 books that comprise three print series—United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors |
| Twentieth Century Poetry |
Combines Twentieth-Century American Poetry which brings together 50,000 poems by over 300 American poets and Twentieth-Century English Poetry contains the poetry of over 280 poets from 1900 to the present day. |
| World Almanac |
A fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike which includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics. |
| World Cat |
Over 41,000,000 items including: books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings, magazines, videotapes. Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. |
| World History Collection |
Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964. These hand-selected information sources cover a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, and more. |
|